ORYX 506


A very special disc created for study, relaxation or meditation.
On this disc we have assembled three programs or groups of pieces.
Each group consists of approximately 20 minutes' adagio movements, and terminates with a faster, more lively movement.

Use this CD for superlearning,
for meditation, contemplation, relieving stress,
or simply as enjoyable, relaxing listening.

The purpose of this compilation is to induce a state of relaxation, wherein stress is relieved, and the brain is in state receptive to contemplation and learning.

Researchers have found that certain music types ease the brainwaves into the relaxed 'alpha state' that is ideal for Superlearning. One form of this superlearning music is the adagio movements of may baroque composers.

The adagio movements are around 40 to 60 beats per minute. In many string concertos and other works, the adagio movements often encapsulate the quintessential thematic and emotional material. However it is their 40-60 beats per minute and slow rhythm that slow body and mind functions and allow an alpha state of mind. This enables one to excel in retention and recall of materials presented in 20 minute intervals. It is also great for relieving stress.

Total Time: 73:49

Group A

1   JS Bach Suite 3 BWV 1068: Air
2   Vivaldi Guitar Concerto: Largo
3   JS Bach Clavier Concerto BWV 1056: Largo
4    Albinoni Oboe Concerto Opus 9/11: Largo
5   Handel Water Music, Suite 1: Air
6   Vivaldi Four Seasons, Winter: Adagio
7   Wassenaer Concerto 4: Adagio-Allegro

Group B

8   JS Bach 3-Clavier Concerto BWV 1064 flute/violin version: Andante
9   Wassenaer Concerto 3: Andante
10   Handel Oboe Concerto 2: Andante
11   Boyce Concerto Grosso in b: 4th movement
12   Geminiani Concerto 9: Largo
13   Albinoni Sonata (Symphony) Op 2/5: Adagio
14   Alessandro Scarlatti Concerto 4: Allegro

Group C

15   JS Bach Sonata for Harpsichord & Violin BWV 18: mvt 3
16   Corelli Concerto Grosso Op 6/12: 3rd movement
17   JS Bach Clavier Concerto BWV 1058: Adagio
18   Handel Oboe Concerto 1: Adagio
19   Corelli Concerto Grosso Op 6/1: 3rd movement
20   Alessandro Scarlatti Sinfonia 12: Adagio-Allegro


Baroque Music Library